Removing (deleting) and re-uploading a bulk accession list

  • Rebecca Allan

    #4261

    Havard & User Forum Colleagues,

    In our office, we upload a large number of accessions once per year. Recently, I uploaded our 2018 accessions (almost 400 entries in an Excel spreadsheet) and later discovered that the cultivar names did not upload because I used the abbreviation “cv” rather than the full word “cultivar” in the relevant column in my excel spreadsheet. I now want to reverse that action and delete the entire upload. I tried to do so by going back to the uploaded file in the Import section, and deleted that file, but all of the data still remains in Iris.

    Question: How do I fully delete this entire action and remove all of the records that were uploaded in the giant upload and

    2. If I simply re-upload a correct version of this accession spreadsheet, using “cultivar” rather than “cv” will it override the original upload, or simply duplicate all of the data?

    Thank you.

    Beryl Zhuang

    #4267

    Hi Rebecca,
    You don’t need to remove these accession records. Instead, you can use the import data module again to update these accessions record with the correct taxon names (Genus, Species, Cultivar and other TaxonName fields like InfraName1).

    To update the accession data, you will need to create another spreadsheet with the accession numbers generated from your previous upload: AccYear, AccNo, and set the Action =’U’, and taxonname fields. After the import and before you accept the import in IrisBG, check the accessions tab and make sure the ‘Action’ is update (not Add). If the cultivar is not in the system yet, in the Taxon names tab, these will be added as new taxa.

    In the job status, there’s a information field that tells you if there’s any field from the spreadsheet that was not included in the import and other types of error.

    Hope this helps 🙂

    Havard

    #4271

    Thanks Beryl for the reply.

    An alternative option for users with the Cloud database service is to do a restore to the point in time just before the data was uploaded. This might be worthwhile if the quanity is significant. Then you will not need to worry about the new taxa with missing cultivar name that were added in the first round.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.